top of page

Kwon Yuri Star News Interview for AAA 2022

Updated: Apr 10, 2023

Translated by @vivo_0805

Full Interview below: Please don't take without credit.


[TRANS] 230328 Kwon Yuri Star News Interview (Part 1) Translated by vivo_0805


Tears after three-wins in AAA, rewarding feeling after arduous activities


People say that, "If you chase two rabbits, you will not catch either one.", but Kwon Yuri have done it. Through Girls' Generation 15th anniversary activities, she looked familiar as 'singer Kwon Yuri'. Then she stood as 'actor Kwon Yuri' through dramas. At this point, it seems like she does not need any other modifiers. Kwon Yuri, who completed her career solely through her own name, stood in front of the camera again.


Kwon Yuri, who debuted as a member of Girls' Generation in August 2007, rose to prominence as a main actress after appearing in supporting roles and special appearances in dramas such as <Unstoppable Marriage> and <Fashion King> while also promoting as a singer. She later appeared in OCN <Neighborhood Hero>, SBS <Defendant>, MBC <Dae Jang Geum is Watching>, MBN <Bossam>, ENA <Good Job>, and many more. In particular, she met actor Jung Ilwoo in <Bossam> and <Good Job> in 2021 and 2022, and they showcased a strong acting cooperation.


Since she has a solid acting career, it has become natural for her to receive awards as an actor. Kwon Yuri, who won the Best Acting Award at the 6th Asian Artist Awards (AAA) in 2021, received three awards in the 7th Asian Artist Awards in Japan (AAA) in 2022 for ‘Best Asia Celebrity-Television’, ‘Best Actor’, and ‘AAA Best Achievement’ categories. Kwon Yuri, who has been doing personal schedules since 2022 AAA, recently spoke with Star News about the award.


Kwon Yuri, who shed tears after winning the Best Acting Award at 2021 AAA, said, "I cried a lot again this time. This award wasn't just for me; it was for our entire team. I was grateful because it was an honorable award given to the actors (on the projects), company employees, and management teams who worked hard," she explained. "I'm just thankful that there are people who support me and that I can enjoy this moment of honor."


When being asked if she is used to winning trophies as she receives awards every time as a singer or actor, Kwon Yuri said, "The feeling is always new because each award and the timing of receiving it are different." She said, "Especially last year, we did a lot of activities in a tight schedule. So it was physically very tasking. The weight of Girls' Generation's 15th anniversary activities and the responsibility of leading the drama <Good Job> felt heavy. I felt like I was being rewarded by such a big award.”

In particular, <Good Job> is a work that has been filmed for quite a long time. The script was changed in the middle, and there were also difficult shooting sessions. "Honestly, everyone who shoots the drama has one heart and one mind," Kwon Yuri said. “We hoped that this drama would go well, and while the pre-production process can be difficult, we want (the drama) to be well-conveyed in some way. We all discussed a lot fiercely. I am grateful that the writer, director, and production company all completed it well.”


[TRANS] 230328 Kwon Yuri Star News Interview (Part 2) Translated by vivo_0805


Jung Ilwoo, from <Bossam> to <Good Job>.. Now the sense of comradeship is developed.


The ENA drama <Good Job> is a heroic-romantic investigative drama involving a man and woman with special abilities: a conglomerate detective and a job seeker with super vision. <Good Job>, the follow-up drama to <Extraordinary Attorney Woo>, broke through the pressure and recorded the highest viewership rating of 3.1%, showing a heated response. Above all, the most talked about was the title of the drama. Just like how it being revealed in the release press conference, the title <Good Job> drew attention as it was known as Kwon Yuri's idea.


According to Kwon Yuri, "This was also my first experience with it. I didn't approach it with the intention of renaming the drama. I had a lot of experience releasing albums as part of Girls' Generation. I have done a lot of work where the story is vividly remembered with just one photo and one title, so I wanted (the title of) our drama to have a strong emotional impact," She stated. "I considered it from the perspective of the viewer, and I believe I listed 25 titles while speaking with the management team. The work was a lot of fun. I also spoke with Jung Ilwoo, the director, and the writer. I believe the production team listened with an open mind." she elaborated.


As a result, she poured a great deal of affection into <Good Job>, particularly for the role of Don Sera. Don Sera possesses superhuman vision and is a 'professional any job catcher' who is willing to accept any job offer that comes her way. Due to a series of events, she becomes involved with Eun Seonwoo (Jung Ilwoo) and embarks on a tumultuous romance. According to Kwon Yuri, "It was fascinating to meet a character who possesses supernatural abilities. Using supernatural powers to help someone in reality was progressive and cool. The character changes in every episode. This is actually an actor's fantasy and dream. It was also the reason why I wanted to be an actor. So it was attractive."


In the drama, Don Sera tries to do her job perfectly, but gives a laugh with her sloppy side. This kind of appearance seemed to be very similar to Kwon Yuri in personality. She stated, "I am extremely grateful that you saw me in that light. When I play a character, I take what's inside me and use it, as all actors do. So it's possible they felt that way. When my coworkers see my usual appearance, they usually tell me, 'Use this when acting.'. I think that’s why I gave the impression that the synchronization rate (between Yuri and Don Sera) is high, making Don Sera and I appear well-matched."


The meeting of Jung Ilwoo and Kwon Yuri is the most unique aspect of <Good Job>. The two had previously collaborated in the MBN drama Bossam> and met again in the drama <Good Job>. There were obvious concerns surrounding them at the time of the initial casting confirmation, but the two demonstrated a new affinity through flawless collaboration. It received such a positive response that some speculated, "The 'Bossam' couple was reincarnated". Jung Ilwoo had previously expressed similar concerns, but he later admitted, "(The role) has a different social status than the previous one, and the new character is a conglomerate and a detective rather than a troublemaker. I assumed that the resolution of the romance that I could depict would be significantly different."


Kwon Yuri also said, "Honestly, I had some concerns regarding the casting. There were many people who thought well of <Bossam>, so I wondered what I should do if the good memories fade because I don't do well (in <Good Job>)? But come to think of it, among the dramas I enjoyed watching, there were seniors who had partnerships several times. Like actors Jisung and Hwang Jungeum, for example. I opened my heart because I expected such a path to exist," she stated. "I really wanted to do well after listening to my co-actors and directors who believed in what Don Sera had. Also, because we had previously worked together, I believe I could act comfortably," she recalled the filming location at the time.

“After working on a project together, the depth of the relation changes. Especially in historical dramas. I (with Jung Il-woo) developed a combat power and comradeship. So it felt like we had a really different and meaningful chemistry. It's really easy and happy to do a new work with a colleague who has this mindset. It was easy because we understood each other a lot"


Not only Jung Ilwoo but also Kwon Yuri had action scenes in Good Job. Especially in the final episode, when Don Sera is kidnapped violently. "There were so many male actors, and (Jung) Ilwoo is good at action (scenes)," Kwon Yuri said. I simply did everything as I was instructed. The kidnapping scene was horrifying and terrifying, but it all worked out thanks to the skilled method. Ilwoo and I talked a lot on the phone, but instead of saying "Hi," we said "So regarding this scene..." as soon as we answered the phone and talked about acting.

[TRANS] 230328 Kwon Yuri Star News Interview (Part 3) Translated by vivo_0805


Girls’ Generation that everyone protected, a touching 15th anniversary promotion activities


Last year, Kwon Yuri (along with Girls’ Generation) released the 7th full album, <Forever 1>, to commemorate the 15th anniversary of Girls' Generation's debut. <Forever 1> is a full album that was released after about 5 years and contains a total of 10 songs with various charms, including the title song of the same name. The title song, <Forever 1>, is a pop dance song with a dynamic development and an energetic melody, and Girls' Generation's unique cool singing brings a festival-like exciting atmosphere. After wrapping up the 15th anniversary promotion activities, Yuri said, "It was a 15th anniversary where I realized a lot of things, and I am thankful to the fans. The reason all of this was possible was because the fans stood together and protected the Girls' Generation name. I was moved by the fact that they supported me a lot and gathered strength (for us). As expected, the members also felt the same way.".

When questioned about whether she had imagined her current appearance (and that of Girls' Generation) at the beginning of her debut, Kwon Yuri replied, "Although I never specifically imagined it, I did abstractly think that they are teammates with whom I could spend the rest of my life and that we had the power (to do so). I'm so luck (to be able to meet with the members). It's particularly special none of us met because we wanted to be friends, nor did we meet at school. It's a close-knit bond that the sky, or even the universe has connected to my life."


Girls' Generation participated in 'SMTOWN LIVE 2022: SMCU EXPRESS @HUMAN CITY_SUWON (hereinafter referred to as ‘SMTOWN Live 2022’)' as it has been a long time since they have done an album promotion activity. Hyoyeon shed tears of emotion while Girls' Generation performed <Forever 1> that day. Kwon Yuri also recalled that time and said, "Even thinking about it now brings tears to my eyes. The feeling was extraordinary. We gained the energy through the support from our fans who stayed in the same place and waited for us. was also thanks to the support of the fans who stayed in one place and waited for us during our (group promotion) hiatus. I was really happy because I could feel that they were really cheering me on.". She went on, "There is also a strong bond between me and the people who have been supporting me for a long time in the same place. It was strange and touching at the same time to meet them while I was standing on stage in my 30s, but I believe the fans felt the same way."

Kwon Yuri frequently meets fans at broadcasting stations because she has been active in the industry for a long time. Jaejae, an SBS broadcaster, is a well-known fan of Girls' Generation. She stated, "There is an implicit bond when it comes to fans. It is a welcoming feeling, as if to say, 'We were a singer and a fan, but we meet again like this now,' or 'In the end, 15 years have passed and we have maintained our position and are able to meet each other in this way,' ", she said. "While living as a member of society, I met people who said they nurtured a dream while looking up at me. Now I receive their help, and I am developing a new dream. Jaejae is exactly the same. Isn't he responsible for making our voices heard a little bit more? So, every day, we would say, 'We need to have interview with Jaejae.' It's great to see someone like that."

Girls' Generation has been steadily popular for 15 years, to the extent that it ranks at the top of the brand reputation even when they are not doing group promotion. Kwon Yuri said, "Actually, while taking a break (of group promotion), I also thought about the secret to maintaining popularity consistently like this. It seems like a lot of reasons came together, but the biggest thing is that we were purely doing what we love and had a good influence." .


"Sometimes we compete in good faith, and other times we rely on each other as friends, family, or an existence more than that," Kwon Yuri explained. We triumphed and shared so much together. "I believe this has started a virtuous cycle," she explained. "This part also serves as a driving force for Girls' Generation. As a member, the symbolism of the group extends beyond the name ‘Girls' Generation’ to me. I really love and care about Girls' Generation, and I think that the people of this nation and the company are also putting effort to protect Girls' Generation. So, even though we don't always promote (as a group), it feels like we're always creating something (in the name of Girls' Generation)."

[TRANS] 230328 Kwon Yuri Star News Interview (Part 4 - Last Part) Translated by vivo_0805


I suffered from varicose veins since I was young.. The surgery went well.


Kwon Yuri recently underwent surgery due to a recurrence of varicose veins in the lower extremities. Varicose veins are a disease that causes pain and swelling in the lower extremities due to stagnant blood flow. Kwon Yuri, who had completed the surgery, spoke cheerfully about varicose veins in the lower extremities. She stated, "The varicose vein has recurred. This is 70% genetic, and to prevent it, you need to avoid standing for a lengthy time or wearing high heels. It is a disease that nurses and chefs usually suffer from. I had varicose veins when I was really young and underwent surgery. I was told not to dance and not to stand too much at the time, but does that make sense? I aspired to be a singer." She reflected on the past.


"Recently, my varicose veins recurred, and I underwent surgery, so the pain in my legs went away, and the swelling while sleeping has improved," Kwon Yuri explained. “The pain has completely subsided. I used to suffer for a month fifteen years ago, but I believe medical procedures are rapidly improving. I got better in one day," she said. "People suffering from a similar disease to mine appear to be able to live a more comfortable and healthy life after I announced it like that. Honestly, isn’t it a disease that (many people) have no idea how to treat it simply because they have it?


Always with a lively attitude, she gained popularity last year by appearing in Disney+'s <The Zone>. At the time, the unfamiliar combination of her with Yoo Jaesuk and Lee Kwangsoo brought freshness. Kwon Yuri said, "All I had to do was to really immerse myself in the set. As Jaesuk oppa and Kwangsoo oppa went into the set together, the real side of me just came out. I played with great concentration." She added, “Even in my opinion, the combination of us three was unique. It was so much fun. It was difficult and I had to focus on clearing the mission. The combination was so good and the oppas are so friendly. And honestly, isn’t Yoo Jaesuk oppa is the ‘God-Yoo’? But he was really friendly and nice. If I can, I want to continuously do <The Zone>.”


She went on, "The ghost episode was absolutely fantastic. They appear to have cast excellent actors. Actually, even between Girls' Generation, I belong as a member who has a lot of fears. But I wasn't a scaredy cat when I entered this space. It was amusing." She continued, “When I was on a plane before, a mother approached me and asked, 'Can my child greet you?' So, after I said it was okay, the mother brought the child. The mother’s words were remarkable. She said, ‘This is the unnie who hit Lee Kwangsoo oppa's head.’” She also added, “Also, when I appeared on MBC's <My Teenage Girl>, many people recognized me simply as an actor rather than a member of Girls' Generation. I was astounded by this.”

Kwon Yuri will start this year with the tvN entertainment program <The Genius Paik>. The program depicts the process of running a Korean restaurant in a barren land of Korean food with Baek Jongwon, Korea's top restaurant management expert. She said, "I like cooking, but it's different from business. Baek Jongwon taught me a lot of know-how. "The true business is a business where we have to remove all the rank insignia," she said. Increasing the anticipation, she added, " We really had meetings every week and prepared hard."


Yuri has not only promoted as an actress but she also released a solo album. When asked if she has any plan to release an album she answered, “I think something interesting could happen. I want to create something new and fun, but I can’t give you a definite answer if (an album) can come out. It is because the (available) time is limited and it is difficult to do stuffs (making an album and doing other promotions) simultaneously,” she said. She also revealed, “Based on what I have received from Girls’ Generation (album promotion), I want to show my more honest and natural side in a different color (of music). It also applies for my other works. I always feel burdened about my next work and try to decide (things) carefully, but I always want to fun and good works.”



151 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page