top of page

Kwon Yuri's JIFF Interview with Cine21 for Dolphin (2023)



Translated by @vivo_0805

Full Interview below: Please don't take without credit.

Original: link


Nayoung (Kwon Yuri), who has lived in a small beach community, finds satisfaction in caring for her family and the neighbors. Everyone comes for lunch, and on days when new news is received, a party is organized. However, the family's thoughts gradually began to shift. Her mother (Gil Haeyeon) want to sell their cherished home, and her younger brother (Hyun Wooseok) tells her that he will move to Seoul to live independently when he turns 20. Nayoung, who perceives the new change as a hazy concern, want to continue living as before.


In fact, Nayoung and the actress who portrays her, Kwon Yuri, are polar opposites. Nayoung, in contrast to her, who debuted with the girl group Girls' Generation and went through many stages of self-expansion such as starring in movies, dramas, and theater plays, wishes to live a humdrum life. However, there are some similarities between the two. When the bowling ball she hits with all her might flies away as though by chance, Yuri meticulously collects her cherished moments, much like Nayoung, who connects with the moment when she leaps like a dolphin across the broad sea. She discussed the blurry border between Nayoung and Yuri.





Q: You chose (to be a part of) an independent film. How did you first become acquainted with the film <Dolphin>?

A: I've always had a strong interest in independent films. I used to love watching it, and after graduating from Chung-Ang University's Department of Theater, I was able to watch the activities of my seniors and juniors all around me. Indie film's free-spirited message is appealing to me. So, when I was offered the role of 'Nayoung' in <Dolphin>, I saw it as a golden opportunity. Above all, I chose this position because I wanted to work with senior Gil Haeyeon. I'm her long-time fan.


Q: Nayoung is a person who is resistant to change and wishes to remain in her current state for a long period of time. Her greatest value is the entire family staying in the same house without change.

A: That's why, at first, I found it difficult to grasp and embrace Nayoung (as a character). However, there was a hint in the scenario regarding her attitude. Nayoung's parents were involved in a car accident while visiting the area as a tourist. Because of the loss of her parents, her yearning for a stable life and the steadfast support of those around her was understood.


Q: Actress Yuri, who is used to new experiences such as acting, theater play, broadcasting, and album (music) activities, as well as overseas expansion, appears to be very far away from Nayoung.

A: To be honest, reading the scenario made me really frustrated. (Laughter) I needed to become close to Nayoung, but there was no intersection (between Yuri and Nayoung), and her way of thinking about and embracing life was quite different from mine. So I stuck around director Bae Doori and asked a lot of questions, including why Nayoung made this decision and whether Nayoung could appear more approachable (on the story). I gradually came to understand the character of Nayoung after conversing with the director. I felt compassion for other family as I became involved in her emotions and my affection for her deepened.


Q: You collaborated on your first feature film with director Bae Doori, who has directed short films such as <폐점시간/Closing Time> (2009), <놀이/Play> (2010), and <어젯밤/Last Night> (2012). Given your similar age range, there must be a lot of things you can relate to.

A: When I look at Nayoung, I can't help but think of director Bae Doori. Senior Gil Haeyeon also said, "The director is ‘Nayoung’, after all!". (Laughter) In fact, the director said the inspiration came to her while bowling at a bowling alley. During a team dinner one day, I asked the director which qualities of my appearance made me appear suitable for Nayoung (the role). When we first met, I was wearing a white T-shirt with a bare face, and she remarked I looked like Nayoung, who was firm and reliable. I still can't forget those words.


Q: Bowling is the only new thing Nayoung has accepted, and it provides an outlet for emotional release. The film had numerous bowling scenes.

A: I'm not particularly good at bowling. The ball will fall into a ditch no matter which way I roll it. That is why I took the time to learn how to bowl. Fortunately, Nayoung's character in the movie was only learning to bowl, so she didn't have to play like a pro. Nayoung enjoys bowling not because she is good at it or because she likes sports in general. She like it because it allows her to feel emotionally stable while releasing uncontrollable anger or sadness. This is also why Nayoung interacts with bowling repeatedly in the movie.


Q: If Nayoung has bowling, what does Kwon Yuri have?

A: This is a very philosophical question. (Laughter) If Nayoung erupts in emotions through bowling, I get intensely immersed in a certain moment and reach a complete lull when I let (something) out. For example, when I sing on stage, stand on the stage at a concert, or perform a play. All negative thoughts disappear as I completely immerse myself in the moment and come back to reality. I'm so happy that that's my job. Of course, it is equally challenging. Because it's so precious.


Q: Nayoung, who wants to stay at home, and Haesoo (Shim Heeseob), a wealthy outsider who wants to settle down, ultimately share the same feelings. What were your thoughts on the two's relationship?

A: Nayoung and Haesoo's connection is filled with a wide range of feelings, including compassion, empathy, comfort, and sadness. Initially, justice did not go well. There were also times when I wondered, "Are the two of you having a fling or what?" However, the two's relationship cannot be interpreted solely from a romantic standpoint. It's more like a partnership where each other serves as an emergency exit and ventilation. Only when I looked at it from a distance could I finally see what Nayoung and Haesoo's relationship was like.


Q: Even her modest attire reveals the aspect of Nayoung that dislikes rapid change.

A: I believe it is critical to reveal a person through visual information. After much thought, I decided to combine many items of the same clothes in different versions. This is because she is a person who has a strong attachment to antiques. That’s why I wore a lot of my real (own) clothes. The watch is her crown jewel. Nayoung keeps the gift watch her mother gave her to the point where she sleeps without taking it off. In fact, it is a watch that does not match Nayoung's usual style at all. It's so old and classy. After being attached to her like a doll, when she took off her watch, Nayoung's growth and change were well revealed.


Q: Many people are overwhelmed by rapid change in a social environment that stresses and encourages self-development through terms like "personal branding," "side project," and "fresh trend." What type of strength can <Dolphin> offer on such individuals?

A: This question appears to run throughout the film. Furthermore, as a result of our exposure on SNS, we are constantly comparing ourselves to others. The pace of change is really fast, but because individuals lack the core (to hold on to), it makes them anxious and difficult. I struggled with this as well and came up with my own solution. If I want to compare myself, I simply compare myself to yesterday. It is important not to compare yourself to others who are far away or to yourself in the distant future. In reality, Nayoung in the beginning of the film and Nayoung at the end are similar. This is a crucial point. We're getting better every day, but no noticeable improvement can be seen in a single day. Everyone must go through the process of accepting that point.



89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page