top of page

Girls' Generation Interview with Thairath



Girls' Generations exclusive interview with Thairath


How people talk about top legendary kpop girl groups, Girls' Generations is always one of the first names that pop up. Especially Thailand know of you very well.


Yoona: Being thought of as one of the top kpop girl groups means the fans see the good in us. So I feel very happy and thankful. I hope Girls' Generation well always remain in everyone thoughts when they think of top kpop girl groups.


Yuri: Just like our slogan, “Girls' Generation Now, Tomorrow Girls' Generation, Girls' Generation Forever". Girls' Generation has remain for the past 15 years to this day due to the fans who have given us love and support. I hope we can continue sharing songs and stories with everyone in the future.


This new album is Girls' Generation's 7th full album. Can you give some key points of on the album and title track?


Sooyoung: As for the title song 'FOREVER 1', it was written by KENZIE, the same person who wrote 'Into The New World'. This is the song gives off the same feelings as 'Into The New World'. The title track gives a strong statement to the person who you love that we are forever one. It also is a song that makes you think of the memories we spent to together as well. Especially I think the songs in the album are very interesting and will bring the fans a lot of joy. All the members have carefully selected the songs on this album together.


If you had the opportunity to come to Thailand for 15 days for a vacation, what would you like to do?


Sooyoung: A 15th day vacation sounds like dream. First off, I want to stay in Bangkok for about 3 days and go traveling around the city. Go shopping, find good restaurants and rest. After that I want to go to Koh Samui or a resort town and play golf.


Yoona: I want to eat delicious food such as watermelon smoothie, papaya salad, tom yum goong, stir-fried morning glory. Then go to get a massage and relax by swimming in the swimming pool.


Sunny: Bangkok, Pattaya and Koh Samui are all my favorite places I've been with my family. I want to go swimming in the sea, eat Pad Thai and rest to the fullest. I really want to eat tropical fruit.


Yuri: I have a lot of good memories when I think of Thailand. I want to go back to Koh Samui again. It was where we filmed our 'PARTY' music video and enjoy relaxing.


Seohyun: I want to go swimming and drink a watermelon smoothie. I want to go on a tour of delicious Thai restaurants. I want to go to Koh Samui, Phuket, Pattaya too.


Hyoyeon: Although I've only been to Phuket and Hua Hin. But I fell in love with Thailand so much. I want to travel to many more places. I want to eat delicious food too.


Taeyeon: I want to walk down the street and feel the warm and humid weather of Thailand to the fullest.


Tiffany: I want to go out and play with the members in Koh Samui and go shopping in Bangkok and find delicious food to eat.


What will make the fans excited with this new album?


Sooyoung: This album is like a gift set. This album is packed with things that fans will like.


Yoona: In addition to this album I think just seeing Girls' Generation as a whole group again will make everyone happy.


Sunny: It's been a long time since I haven't released dark songs like 'Villain' and 'You Better Run'. I think SONEs would have liked it a lot.


Seohyun: There are pictures for the album and everyone can see in the music video that we were filming with the 2022 version of Gee. It was a different feeling. I hope the fans will like it even more. It brings back memories of that time as well.


Going forward how do you want Girls' Generation to be remembered?


Sooyoung: To the fans get energy from listening to our songs and who have been watching over us. Everyone is now an adult. It's the best feeling when they say they have a good time following us. And I hope they will continue to receive good energy every time they watch us, no matter how much time has passed.


Yoona: I hope that we will be remembered as a group that marked the beginning of an important milestone for K-pop girl groups. And it's a group that has positive energy.


Sunny: I want to be remembered as a great group that continues to evolve.


Yuri: I hope we will be remembered the way Girls' Generation is today.


Seohyun: I want the fans to remember us being a part of their lives that make them happy.


Hyoyeon: It's like smiling for no reason when you think of someone you love. I want to be remembered that way. As a way of making fans smile for no reason when they think of Girls' Generation.


Taeyeon: I want to be remembered as a 'legend'".


Tiffany: We've been together for 15 years, and I want everyone to remember us as the Girls' Generation who will continue to grow and be together forever.


Having been separated for an amount of time after coming back together again, have you shared your experiences with each other?


Seohyun: Even though if we don't see each other often. But we'll always talking and sharing our daily lives in our group chat. I think there is almost nothing that we don't know about each other. It's a good thing that we don't stop talking every time we meet. But sometimes it seems to be a disadvantage because we can't stop talking (smiles).


Having been in the industry for 15 years, have you found anything has gotten easier?


Sooyoung: It seems I'm able to easily forget things without regret.


Yoona: As time has past I have discovered how to control my thoughts and learned a lot.


Seohyun: I've spent time alone and learning things. There are times when I feel anxious if I don't do anything. But now I feel like that's happiness too. Now I'm practicing accepting things that may happen accidentally or inevitably in life.


Hyoyeon: I think I was positivity influenced by meeting with friends from different professions and experiencing another world indirectly.


Tiffany: I feel the importance of the people around me more and I'm trying not to be impatient.


Finally, is there anything you want to say about your 15th anniversary?


Sooyoung: I am impressed by determination and professionalism of all the members. We all feel like we've grown a lot in the past five years. So I think we've released this album with more completeness than ever before.


Yoona: I feel so cool and proud to be a group that is celebrating 15 years. I want to thank the fans who have been waiting for us for a long time.


Yuri: The words ‘Nothing is impossible!’ popped into my head. It also because of the fans who have always given us love and have always waited for us.


Seohyun: We've been together for a very long time and us being together seems so normal now. For the past few years while we all went to pursue their solo work, we felt each other's importance even more. I feel so grateful to all the unnies that can make me feel like a teenager again whenever we are together. And in the future we will be able to be together again as well as create great memories . I want to say that I really love both the unnies and the fans who are the the reason we are able to be here today.


Taeyeon: I feel like everyone has remained the same without change. That why I think we were able to come together as tightly as we are now.


Translated from Thai to English by @numjin9

743 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page